With win over Iowa, Missouri heads into GRLC tournament in first place

Freshman Ryan Skiermanski celebrates his goal.
Freshman Ryan Skiermanski celebrates his goal.

A little rain didn’t dampen the spirits or the drive of the Missouri lacrosse team Saturday as they powered past Iowa 9-6 to capture the No. 1 seed for the conference tournament.

Heading into the game Missouri and Iowa were tied in the standings, with Iowa holding better wins over some key opponents. The two teams were so close, they were even tied at halftime with four goals each.

But the Tigers used tight defense in the second half to hold the Hawkeyes to just two more goal, while tallying five of their own.

The GRLC conference tournament starts Friday, Missouri should receive a first round bye and start play on Saturday afternoon in St. Louis. More info will be available soon. More photos will also be coming soon.


Ryan Biek
Ryan Biek

Junior attack Ryan Biek of Orno, Minn., will be the club’s president for next year.

As is the tradition for the lacrosse team, the 2014-2015 Leadership Team was voted in last week on the bus ride home from the Kansas game.

The LT directs all off-field actions for the club, while the coach is in charge of games and practices.

Congratulations to the new officers.

  • President: Ryan Biek
  • Treasurer: Matt Shepard
  • Treasurer-Elect: Tyler Jacobsen
  • Recruitment: Grant Pieper
  • Travel: Thomas Scully
  • Risk-Manager: Devan Dupré
  • Equipment: Phil Bergman
  • Freshman Rep: (Selected in the fall)